Oh how I love you, sweets. 

Who else is totally addicted to sweets?? Candy, Cookies, cake, brownies… I could eat them all day!!! But, unfortunately my body is starting to hate me for it!!! 

Since April, I haven’t been able to do any type of working out to lose weight because of my surgery. If you don’t know, I love to workout! It makes me feel good and feel strong AND it allows me to be able to indulge in my favorite sweets without adding on the pounds. 

Maybe you can see where I’m going with this… No working out + all those yummy treats= a 15 lb weight gain since April! 😭😭 so not cool Joanie. Just, so not cool. 

It’s time to take back control of my body. I’m going to have to mostly do this is the kitchen, but I am allowed to workout somewhat. Not really enough to make a difference, but it’s a start. I will be doing the beachbody program called piyo again- it’s a yoga/Pilates workout. I’ll have to modify but my therapist says yoga type workouts would be good for me. I am also going to still bike everyday (stationary biking is part of my rehab) And i have been doing the elliptical for a bit now (it’s hard!!!) so I’ll be adding that in a couple times a week too . And it’s not like I am going super fast and sweating buckets, burning a ton of calories. I know the above sounds like a lot, but it’s not. I can’t do it fast enough or long enough to  really get my heart rate going. Oh I sweat for sure because I’m out of shape, so it will help and ultimately it will get me back to 100% 💪🏼

In the kitchen, I’m starting with setting small goals and working up. First and foremost- drink more water!!! I’m going to try to drink 100oz a day. (Some people think this is crazy but I drink a lot of water on a normal day so I need to kick it up! My water bottle is 32 oz so it’s only 3 a day.) I will totally cut out treats for a bit and then just allow myself a small treat every so often. I can’t totally deprive myself otherwise I will cave and eat all.the.candy. Haha! Next will come healthy snacks, more veggies, healthier meals and healthy swaps in the kitchen! It will all fall into place. I have found the key for me is to take it one step at a time. If one day i just say “ok no treats, no snacks, no unhealthy meals, and workout twice a day” then I will fail. It’s a gradual process, letting my body get used to one change at a time. 

I’m not really sure what my time goal should be to lose this weight. I’ve always heavily relied on working out, so this is definitely going to be a new adventure. And tough. 😁 

One of the reasons for writing this is so I can stay accountable.. The public now knows I have a goal and I don’t want to embarrass myself by not making it!! 😳 if you see me around, ask me how it’s going! I’ll need the encouragement of knowing people are wondering! 😆

Wish me luck! And if you want to join me in this journey, let me know! It’s ways easier when you have friends by your side! 

Xoxo

Joanie 

One thought on “Oh how I love you, sweets. 

Leave a Reply

